Jansen, Markram shine as South Africa script series win over Australia after 122 run victory in final ODI

Johannesburg: South Africa secured a memorable series win against Australia with a 122-run victory in the fifth and final ODI at Johannesburg. An exceptional all-round performance by Marco Jansen, along with half-centuries from Aiden Markram and David Miller, contributed to this crucial win.

South Africa clinched the closely contested ODI series 3-2.

After being put in to bat by Australia, South Africa faced early setbacks, losing skipper Temba Bavuma for a duck due to a run-out by Marnus Labuschagne. During the first ten overs of the mandatory powerplay, South Africa struggled against the Australian bowling attack, with the score at just 32/1.

Nathan Ellis dismissed Quinton de Kock, who was playing his final ODI at home, for 27 off 39 balls, caught by Cameron Green at slips. South Africa found themselves at 37/2 in 11.4 overs.

Proteas reached the 50-run mark in 14 overs. Rassie van der Dussen and Markram then began building a solid partnership, but Labuschagne’s delivery that ended Rassie’s innings at 30 off 48 balls (two fours and a six) left South Africa at 80/3 in 18.2 overs.

South Africa reached 100 runs in 22.1 overs. However, Adam Zampa, who had previously faced a thrashing from Heinrich Klaasen in the previous ODI, now managed to dismiss him for just six runs, reducing South Africa to 103/4 in 23.2 overs. Markram had already reached his fifty in 54 balls, with five fours and three sixes.

Markram and Miller then stabilized the innings after these quick wickets. They attacked the Australian bowlers, finding gaps with ease. South Africa reached 150 runs in 31.3 overs and 200 runs in 39.2 overs.

The century partnership between the two came in 102 balls. Miller achieved his second successive fifty in 59 balls, including three fours and two sixes.

Abbott struck once again, removing Markram for 93 off 87 balls with nine boundaries and three sixes. South Africa stood at 212/5 in 41.1 overs.

Jansen (47 runs in 23 balls, featuring four boundaries and three sixes) and Miller built another crucial 68-run partnership, while Andile Phehlukwayo contributed a rapid 38* in 19 balls with two fours and three sixes, helping South Africa conclude at 315/9 in 50 overs.

For Australia, Zampa (3/70) and Abbott (2/54) were the standout bowlers.

In their pursuit of 316, Australia started decently with openers Mitchell Marsh and David Warner. However, they lost Warner (10) and Josh Inglis (0) to Jansen in the fourth over, leaving Australia at 34/2.

Australia reached the 50-run mark in eight overs. Labuschagne and Jansen forged a 90-run partnership for the third wicket, which Jansen ended by dismissing Marsh for 71 off 56 balls (six fours and six sixes). Jansen subsequently removed Labuschagne (44 off 63 balls with three fours) and Alex Carey (2), reducing Australia to 136/5 in 22 overs.

Spinner Keshav Maharaj then spun his web and dismantled Australia’s middle order, eventually limiting them to 193 runs in 34.1 overs. The visitors succumbed to a 122-run defeat.

Jansen, with his exceptional all-round performance, was awarded the ‘Player of the Match.’

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button